#### KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

## **GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL**

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 28 June 2013.

PRESENT: Miss S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr R J Parry and Mrs Z Wiltshire

ALSO PRESENT: Mr A Terry

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

## **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

## 5. Election of Chairman (*Item A2*)

(1) Mr R J Parry moved, seconded by Ms S C Carey that Mr D L Brazier be elected Chairman of the Panel.

Carried with no opposition

(2) Ms S J Carey moved, seconded by Mrs V J Dagger that in the absence of Mr Brazier, Mr R J Parry be elected Chairman for the meeting.

Carried with no opposition

(3) Mr Parry thereupon assumed the Chair.

# 6. Minutes - 26 April 2013 (*Item A4*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 26 April 2013 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

## 7. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The School Governance Officer informed the Committee that the circumstances that had prevented the Panel from appointing Mr P Ananicz to the Governing Body of Five Acre Wood School no longer applied. The Panel therefore made this appointment.
- (2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mr P Sims to the Governing Body of Downs View Infant School due to the very strong letter of support from the Chair of Governors at that School.
- (3) The Panel decided not to make an exception to the Guidelines in respect of Mr R Law's nomination to the Governing Body of Sutton Valence Primary School. It did, however decide to appoint him to the Management Committee of the Shepway

Alternative Curriculum PRU (Brook) as it considered that his experience as a Head Teacher would be invaluable, particularly in the light of the new PRU Guidance.

- (4) The Panel noted that Bromstone Primary School had not moved to academy status. As this had been the reason it had not appointed Mr A Poole to that School's Governing Body, it decided by 4 votes to 0 with 1 abstention to make the appointment and to backdate it to 1 June 2013.
- (5) The School Governance Officer informed the Panel that Mr F Toomey's nomination to the Governing Body of Monkton CE Primary School had been omitted from the report to the previous meeting. The Panel therefore confirmed the appointment, and backdated it to the previous meeting.
- (6) The Panel agreed to consider the late nomination of Mr M Whiting to the Governing Body of South Avenue Junior School, as it considered it essential to bolster the School's Governing Body at the earliest opportunity. As Mr Whiting was the only nomination, the appointment was made in accordance with the protocols agreed by Selection and Member Services Committee on 4 July 2008.
- (7) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

# APPENDIX (Paragraph 7 of the Minutes refers)

#### 1. ASHFORD

School
St Mary's CE Primary School
Charing CE Primart School
Downs View Infant School
John Mayne CEP School
Kennington CE Junior School
Kingsnorth CE Primary School
Smeeth Community Primary School

Appointee
Mr M Nunn
Miss K Watson
Mr P Sims
Mrs E Walker
Mr M Wharrad
Mr N Shorter
Mr M Turner

### 2. CANTERBURY

SchoolAppointeeBridge and Patrixbourne CE Primary SchoolMrs C HellmanHerne CE Infant and Nursery Primary SchoolMr R GouldSt Mary's Catholic Primary SchoolMr P SandeyThe Federation of Preston and Wingham Primary SchoolsMr G Jenkins OBE

## 3. DARTFORD

School
Sedley's CE Primary School
Swan Valley Community School
The Proposed Federation of Temple Hill and Oakfield
Community Primary Schools

Appointee
Mrs N Salway
Mr E Jackson
Mr N Lake

#### 4. DOVER

SchoolAppointeeAsh Cartwright and Kelsey CEP SchoolMrs S McCrystalNonington CEP SchoolMr G BirrellSandwich Infant SchoolMrs C WhittakerWhitfield School and Aspen Special UnitRev, S White

#### 5. GRAVESHAM

SchoolAppointeeSt John's Catholic Primary SchoolMr J Lynch

## 6. MAIDSTONE

SchoolAppointeeBarming Primary SchoolMr J MillsFive Acre Wood SchoolMr P AnaniczMadginford Park Infant SchoolMrs C ChristieSt Paul's Infant SchoolMrs A WattsWateringbury CE Primary SchoolMrs V Collett

### 7. SEVENOAKS

School

Dunton Green Primary School Lady Boswell's CE Primary School New Ash Green Primary School New Ash Green Primary School St John's CE Primary School Weald Community Primary School **Appointee** 

Mr J Ryan Mr P Wood Mr C Bruce Mrs C Clark Mr J Cheeseman Mrs E Dick

8. SHEPWAY

School

The Churchill School

**Appointee** 

Miss D Douse

9. SWALE

School

Bysing Wood Primary School Hartlip Endowed CE Primary School Rodmersham School South Avenue Junior School St Mary of Charity CE (Aided) Primary School **Appointee** 

Mr P Durkin Mr G Addicott Mr D Roche Mr M Whiting Ms G Rowlands

10. THANET

School

Bromstone Primary School
Bromstone Primary School
Holy Trinity and St John's CE Primary Schooll
Monkton CE Primary School
Palm Bay Primary School
Priory Infant School
St Mildred's Primary Infant School

Appointee

Dr A Skingley Mr A Poole Mr M Tatlow Mr F Toomey (see Minute 7 (5) ) Mrs L Drake Mr R Crook Revd. Canon D Roper

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

Aylesford School
Brookfield Infant School
Grange Park School
Hildenborough CE Primary School
Ridge View Primary School
St Katherine's School
Stocks Green Primary School
The Judd School

**Appointee** 

Mr R Janz Mrs J Johnson Mr M Balfour Mr B Leggett Mrs A Pritchard Mrs A Tyrell Mr D Braithwaite Mr M Dobson

## 12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

### School

Paddock Wood Primary School St Peter's CE Primary School

## 13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

### PRU

Canterbury and Swale Alternative Curriculum PRU Thanet and Dover Alternative Curriculum PRU Shepway Alternative Curriculum PRU (Brook)

- 14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS
- 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS
- 16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

## **Appointee**

Mr M Clark Cllr C Mayhew

## **Appointee**

Mr A Hogarth Mrs L Samson Mr R Law This page is intentionally left blank